Project

General

Profile

08292017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57995 (starting evening of August 29, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • William Wester (observer 1)
  • Lucas Secco (observer 2/Run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57995, date 20170829, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:15 CLST     UT 17:15     SidTim 11:05
Sunset     19:33 CLST  22:33 UT   SidTim  246 deg  
Eve. -10   20:08 CLST  23:08 UT   SidTim  254 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:27 CLST  23:27 UT   SidTim  259 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   SidTim  264 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:43 CLST  04:43 UT   SidTim  338 deg  
Moonset    02:56 CLST  05:56 UT   SidTim  357 deg  
Morn -18   06:41 CLST  09:41 UT   SidTim   53 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:58 CLST  09:58 UT   SidTim   57 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:18 CLST  10:18 UT   SidTim   62 deg  
Sunrise    07:53 CLST  10:53 UT   SidTim   71 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 254.9, Dec -17.5 Phase: 0.525

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Single flat sequence
  • Early ToO (extra Y band at -11)
  • Midpoint standards (if not cloudy) [ugrizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2017/08/30 05:30'     Local time = 02:30 (midpoint + ToO)
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.7 <== just this one
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [ugrizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/30 09:58'     Local time = 06:58
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes