Project

General

Profile

08292016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57630 (starting evening of August 29, 2016)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Federica Tarsitano (observer 1)
  • Anthony Kremin (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57630, date 20160829, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:06 CLST     UT 16:06     SidTim 09:57
Sunset     19:33 CLST  22:33 UT   SidTim  246 deg
Eve. -10   20:08 CLST  23:08 UT   SidTim  255 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:27 CLST  23:27 UT   SidTim  260 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   SidTim  264 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:43 CLST  04:43 UT   SidTim  338 deg
Morn -18   06:41 CLST  09:41 UT   SidTim   53 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonrise   06:45 CLST  09:45 UT   SidTim   54 deg
Morn Std   06:58 CLST  09:58 UT   SidTim   57 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:18 CLST  10:18 UT   SidTim   62 deg
Sunrise    07:53 CLST  10:53 UT   SidTim   71 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 133.3, Dec 15.0 Phase: 0.161

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half night is community time.
  • DES handoff 01:44 CLT to 07:23 CLT.
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
  • Observe wide field and SN if conditions are suboptimal. No SN on deadman.
  • One standard at midpoint.
UT Date = '2016/08/30 04:43'     Local time = 01:43
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) + one calspec [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/30 09:58'     Local time = 06:58
SDSSJ0103-0020_CCD_35_z  ra 01:03:22  dec -00:15:48  secz 1.5<-- calspec std (just z-band)
SDSSJ0100-0000           ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000           ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?
  1. C3z is on deadman tonight.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

"Let's set some more records."

Other Notes