Project

General

Profile

08282017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57994 (starting evening of August 28, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • William Wester (observer 1)
  • Lucas Secco (observer 2/Run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57994, date 20170828, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:18 CLST     UT 17:18     SidTim 11:04
Sunset     19:33 CLST  22:33 UT   SidTim  245 deg  
Eve. -10   20:08 CLST  23:08 UT   SidTim  253 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   SidTim  258 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   SidTim  263 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim  338 deg  
Moonset    02:05 CLST  05:05 UT   SidTim  343 deg  
Morn -18   06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   SidTim   52 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:00 CLST  10:00 UT   SidTim   56 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:20 CLST  10:20 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Sunrise    07:55 CLST  10:55 UT   SidTim   70 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 242.7, Dec -15.5 Phase: 0.462

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Single flat sequence
  • Early ToO (extra Y band at -11)
  • Midpoint standards (if not cloudy) [ugrizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2017/08/29 05:40'     Local time = 02:46 (midpoint + 56min ToO)
E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7 <== this one only
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [ugrizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/29 10:00'     Local time = 07:00
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes