Project

General

Profile

08282016 » History » Version 2

« Previous - Version 2/3 (diff) - Next » - Current version
Anthony Kremin, 08/28/2016 02:15 PM


08282016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 576269 (starting evening of August 28, 2016)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Marc Manera (observer 1)
  • Anthony Kremin (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57629, date 20160828, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:42 CLST     UT 17:42     SidTim 11:29
Sunset     19:33 CLST  22:33 UT   SidTim  245 deg
Eve. -10   20:08 CLST  23:08 UT   SidTim  254 deg Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   SidTim  258 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   SidTim  263 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim  338 deg
Moonrise   05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   SidTim   42 deg
Morn -18   06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   SidTim   52 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:59 CLST  09:59 UT   SidTim   57 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:19 CLST  10:19 UT   SidTim   62 deg
Sunrise    07:54 CLST  10:54 UT   SidTim   70 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 119.9, Dec 17.2 Phase: 0.231

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half night is community time.
  • DES handoff 01:44 CLT to 07:19 CLT.
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
  • Observe wide field and SN if conditions are suboptimal. No SN on deadman.
  • One high mass standard at start of half night.
UT Date = '2016/08/29 04:44'     Local time = 01:44
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) + one calspec [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/29 09:59'     Local time = 06:59
GD71_CCD_52           ra 05:52:28  dec +15:58:17  secz 1.7<-- calspec std
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?
  • C3i and C3z haven't been observed in 5 days. Obstac may select.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

None.

Other Notes