Project

General

Profile

08272017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57993 (starting evening of August 27, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Eduardo Balbinot (observer 1)
  • Lucas Secco (observer 2/Run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57993, date 20170827, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:13 CLST     UT 18:13     SidTim 11:55
Sunset     19:32 CLST  22:32 UT   SidTim  244 deg  
Eve. -10   20:07 CLST  23:07 UT   SidTim  252 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   SidTim  257 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   SidTim  262 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:12 CLST  04:12 UT   SidTim  328 deg  
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim  336 deg  
Morn -18   06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   SidTim   52 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:01 CLST  10:01 UT   SidTim   56 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:21 CLST  10:21 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Sunrise    07:56 CLST  10:56 UT   SidTim   70 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 230.6, Dec -12.8 Phase: 0.399

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Single flat sequence
  • Early ToO (extra Y band at -11)
  • Midpoint standards (if not cloudy) [ugrizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2017/08/28 5:55'     Local time = 02:55
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0 <== THIS ONE
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [ugrizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/28 10:01'     Local time = 07:01
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • No meeting today

Other Notes