Project

General

Profile

08272016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57628 (starting evening of August 27, 2016)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Marc Manera (observer 2)
  • Anthony Kremin (observer 1/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57628, date 20160827, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:05 CLST     UT 19:05     SidTim 12:48
Sunset     19:32 CLST  22:32 UT   SidTim  244 deg
Eve. -10   20:07 CLST  23:07 UT   SidTim  253 deg Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   SidTim  257 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   SidTim  262 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim  337 deg
Moonrise   05:09 CLST  08:09 UT   SidTim   28 deg
Morn -18   06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   SidTim   52 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:00 CLST  10:00 UT   SidTim   56 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:20 CLST  10:20 UT   SidTim   61 deg
Sunrise    07:55 CLST  10:55 UT   SidTim   70 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 106.0, Dec 18.5 Phase: 0.304

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half night is community time.
  • DES handoff 01:44 CLT to 07:20 CLT.
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
  • Observe wide field and SN if conditions are suboptimal. No SN on deadman.
  • One high airmass standard at start of half night.
UT Date = '2016/08/28 04:44'     Local time = 01:44
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) + one caalspec [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/28 10:00'     Local time = 07:00
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
C26202_CCD_52         ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0 <-- this is the calspec std^*
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
None

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

None.

Other Notes