Project

General

Profile

08262017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57992 (starting evening of August 26, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Eduardo Balbinot (observer 2/Run manager)
  • Lucas Secco (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57992, date 20170826, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:07 CLST     UT 18:07     SidTim 11:45
Sunset     19:32 CLST  22:32 UT   SidTim  243 deg  
Eve. -10   20:07 CLST  23:07 UT   SidTim  251 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:25 CLST  23:25 UT   SidTim  256 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   SidTim  260 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:18 CLST  03:18 UT   SidTim  314 deg  
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim  336 deg  
Morn -18   06:45 CLST  09:45 UT   SidTim   51 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:02 CLST  10:02 UT   SidTim   55 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:22 CLST  10:22 UT   SidTim   60 deg  
Sunrise    07:57 CLST  10:57 UT   SidTim   69 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 218.8, Dec -9.5 Phase: 0.337

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Single flat sequence
  • Early ToO (extra Y band at -11)
  • Midpoint standards (if not cloudy) [ugrizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2017/08/27 5:50'     Local time = 02:50
E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7 <=== THIS ONE
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [ugrizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/27 10:02'     Local time = 07:02
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • No meeting today

Other Notes