Project

General

Profile

08262016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57626 (starting evening of August 25, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Marc Manera (observer 1)
  • Anthony Kremin (observer 2/run manager)
  • Bonnie Zhang (visitor)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57627, date 20160826, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:52 CLST     UT 18:52     SidTim 12:32
Sunset     19:32 CLST  22:32 UT   SidTim  243 deg
Eve. -10   20:07 CLST  23:07 UT   SidTim  252 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:25 CLST  23:25 UT   SidTim  256 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   SidTim  261 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim  336 deg
Moonrise   04:15 CLST  07:15 UT   SidTim   14 deg
Morn -18   06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   SidTim   51 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:02 CLST  10:02 UT   SidTim   55 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:22 CLST  10:22 UT   SidTim   60 deg
Sunrise    07:57 CLST  10:57 UT   SidTim   69 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 91.8, Dec 18.8 Phase: 0.378

Weather Conditions

  • Completely overcast in the afternoon. Forecast calls for the same most of the night. Possibly clearing/improving after 3 or 4am local time. Winds shouldn't be a problem.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First night observer is Albert Lee (Harvard, PI: Finkbeiner)
  • DES 01:44 CLT to 07:23 CLT.
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/27 04:44'     Local time = 01:44
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0  <-- used this one!
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5  <-- didn't use this one!
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  <-- didn't use this one!
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) + one caalspec [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/27 10:02'     Local time = 07:02
SDSSJ0000-0000           ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0103-0020_CCD_35_Y  ra 01:03:22  dec -00:15:48  secz 1.5 <-calspec standard (just Y-band)
SDSSJ0320-0000           ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
TBD

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

  • "Tonight it will be dark."

Other Notes