Project

General

Profile

08252017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57991 (starting evening of August 25, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Eduardo Balbinot (observer 1/Run manager)
  • Lucas Secco (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57991, date 20170825, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:56 CLST     UT 17:56     SidTim 11:31
Sunset     19:31 CLST  22:31 UT   SidTim  241 deg  
Eve. -10   20:06 CLST  23:06 UT   SidTim  250 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:25 CLST  23:25 UT   SidTim  255 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   SidTim  260 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:23 CLST  02:23 UT   SidTim  299 deg  
Midpoint   01:45 CLST  04:45 UT   SidTim  335 deg  
Morn -18   06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   SidTim   50 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:03 CLST  10:03 UT   SidTim   54 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:23 CLST  10:23 UT   SidTim   59 deg  
Sunrise    07:58 CLST  10:58 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 206.9, Dec -5.8 Phase: 0.275

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Double flat sequence
  • Any ToO
  • DES second half night: 01:45 to 07:04 CLT
  • Midpoint standards (if not cloudy)
UT Date = '2017/08/26 4:45'     Local time = 01:45
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0 <=== DOING THIS ONE
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • ObsTac
  • Late ToO
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/26 10:03'     Local time = 07:03
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes