Project

General

Profile

08252016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57626 (starting evening of August 25, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Marc Manera (observer 2)
  • Kathy Vivas (observer 1/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57626, date 20160825, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 01:13 CLST     UT 04:13     SidTim 21:48
Sunset     19:31 CLST  22:31 UT   SidTim  242 deg  
Eve. -10   20:06 CLST  23:06 UT   SidTim  250 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:25 CLST  23:25 UT   SidTim  255 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   SidTim  260 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim  335 deg  
Moonrise   03:17 CLST  06:17 UT   SidTim  358 deg  
Morn -18   06:45 CLST  09:45 UT   SidTim   50 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:03 CLST  10:03 UT   SidTim   54 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:23 CLST  10:23 UT   SidTim   60 deg  
Sunrise    07:58 CLST  10:58 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 77.3, Dec 18.0 Phase: 0.452

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First night observer is Albert Lee (Harvard, PI: Finkbeiner)
  • DES 01:44 CLT to 07:23 CLT.
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/25 4:45'     Local time = 01:45
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0 <-- do this on only
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5 <-- not this
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2 <-- nor this
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) + one caalspec [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/25 10:04'     Local time = 07:04
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0103-0020_CCD_35_gri.json
 SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2016-08-23 04:59:40.222060+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-08-23 05:19:01.223187+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2016-08-23 06:41:21.644317+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2016-08-23 07:15:18.253463+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2016-08-23 07:38:30.246543+00:00
SN-C2    short    2016-08-23 09:34:31.548126+00:00
SN-C1    short    2016-08-23 09:53:59.385090+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2016-08-24 06:32:32.645211+00:00
SN-X2    short    2016-08-25 05:57:39.579268+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2016-08-25 06:16:57.642730+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-08-25 06:29:49.126625+00:00
SN-S2    short    2016-08-25 06:52:49.184503+00:00
SN-S1    short    2016-08-25 07:12:10.647334+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-08-25 07:31:45.733404+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2016-08-25 08:05:41.987502+00:00
SN-X1    short    2016-08-25 09:12:47.138421+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

  • Take no prisoners

Other Notes