Project

General

Profile

08242016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57625 (starting evening of August 24, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Marc Manera (observer 1)
  • Kathy Vivas (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57625, date 20160824, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 01:25 CLST     UT 04:25     SidTim 21:57
Sunset     19:31 CLST  22:31 UT   SidTim  241 deg  
Eve. -10   20:06 CLST  23:06 UT   SidTim  249 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   SidTim  254 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   SidTim  258 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:45 CLST  04:45 UT   SidTim  334 deg  
Moonrise   02:15 CLST  05:15 UT   SidTim  342 deg  
Morn -18   06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   SidTim   50 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:04 CLST  10:04 UT   SidTim   54 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:24 CLST  10:24 UT   SidTim   59 deg  
Sunrise    07:59 CLST  10:59 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 62.9, Dec 16.1 Phase: 0.526

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First night observer is Albert Lee (Harvard, PI: Finkbeiner)
  • DES 01:45 CLT to 07:24 CLT.
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/25 4:45'     Local time = 01:45
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0  <-- this looks like a good one to do!
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) + one caalspec [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/25 10:04'     Local time = 07:04
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0103-0020_CCD_35  ra 01:03:22  dec -00:15:48  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • By suggestion of D. Tucker, we will be changing the calspec to WD0308-565_CCD_52.json (same as last night but in a different chip)

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-S2    short    2016-01-16 02:25:28.151220+00:00
SN-S1    short    2016-01-21 01:12:55.727364+00:00
SN-X2    short    2016-02-09 01:34:40.563890+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2016-08-14 07:28:13.627104+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2016-08-14 08:51:03.899069+00:00
SN-X1    short    2016-08-15 09:53:49.202109+00:00
SN-E1    short    2016-08-23 04:59:40.222060+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-08-23 05:19:01.223187+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2016-08-23 06:41:21.644317+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2016-08-23 07:15:18.253463+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2016-08-23 07:38:30.246543+00:00
SN-C2    short    2016-08-23 09:34:31.548126+00:00
SN-C1    short    2016-08-23 09:53:59.385090+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2016-08-24 06:32:32.645211+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-08-24 06:44:53.007913+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-08-24 07:07:44.335558+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

  • Season 4, Episode 6 This time for sure!

Other Notes