Project

General

Profile

08232017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57989 (starting evening of August 23, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Eduardo Balbinot (observer 1/Run manager)
  • Lucas Secco (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57989, date 20170823, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:28 CLST     UT 18:28     SidTim 11:55
Sunset     19:30 CLST  22:30 UT   SidTim  239 deg  
Eve. -10   20:05 CLST  23:05 UT   SidTim  248 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   SidTim  252 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:42 CLST  23:42 UT   SidTim  257 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   SidTim  269 deg  
Midpoint   01:45 CLST  04:45 UT   SidTim  333 deg  
Morn -18   06:48 CLST  09:48 UT   SidTim   48 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:05 CLST  10:05 UT   SidTim   53 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:25 CLST  10:25 UT   SidTim   58 deg  
Sunrise    08:00 CLST  11:00 UT   SidTim   67 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 182.7, Dec 2.6 Phase: 0.149

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Double flat sequence
  • Early ToO time swap
  • DES second half night: 01:45 CLT + ToO time to 07:05 CLT
  • ToO (only first three BHB ones)
  • ObsTac until 5:45 UT/2:45 CLT
  • Midpoint standards (if not cloudy)
UT Date = '2017/08/22 04:46'     Local time = 01:46
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/22 10:07'     Local time = 07:07
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes