Project

General

Profile

08232016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57624 (starting evening of August 23, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Marc Manera (observer 1)
  • Kathy Vivas (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57624, date 20160823, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:24 CLST     UT 19:24     SidTim 12:51
Sunset     19:30 CLST  22:30 UT   SidTim  240 deg  
Eve. -10   20:05 CLST  23:05 UT   SidTim  248 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   SidTim  253 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   SidTim  258 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:12 CLST  04:12 UT   SidTim  325 deg  
Midpoint   01:45 CLST  04:45 UT   SidTim  333 deg  
Morn -18   06:48 CLST  09:48 UT   SidTim   49 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:05 CLST  10:05 UT   SidTim   53 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:25 CLST  10:25 UT   SidTim   58 deg  
Sunrise    08:00 CLST  11:00 UT   SidTim   67 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 48.5, Dec 13.3 Phase: 0.599

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First night observer is Albert Lee (Harvard, PI: Finkbeiner)
  • DES 01:45 CLT to 07:25 CLT
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/24 04:45'     Local time = 01:45
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secs 1.5  <-- do this one
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secs 1.2
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) + one caalspec [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/24 10:05'     Local time = 07:05
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
WD0308-565_CCD_62     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.1
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secs 1.0

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-S2    short    2016-01-16 02:25:28.151220+00:00
SN-S1    short    2016-01-21 01:12:55.727364+00:00
SN-X2    short    2016-02-09 01:31:17.064461+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2016-08-14 06:46:24.495877+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-08-14 07:53:55.973951+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-08-14 08:27:58.819648+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2016-08-14 08:51:03.899069+00:00
SN-X1    short    2016-08-15 09:50:25.806848+00:00
SN-E1    short    2016-08-23 04:59:40.222060+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-08-23 05:19:01.223187+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2016-08-23 06:28:12.633228+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2016-08-23 06:41:21.644317+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2016-08-23 07:15:18.253463+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2016-08-23 07:38:30.246543+00:00
SN-C2    short    2016-08-23 09:34:31.548126+00:00
SN-C1    short    2016-08-23 09:53:59.385090+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

  • Season 4, episode "5 Another chance for gold"

Other Notes