Project

General

Profile

08222017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57988 (starting evening of August 22, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Eduardo Balbinot (observer 2/Run manager)
  • Lucas Secco (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57988, date 20170822, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:05 CLST     UT 16:05     SidTim 09:27
Sunset     19:29 CLST  22:29 UT   SidTim  238 deg  
Eve. -10   20:05 CLST  23:05 UT   SidTim  247 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:23 CLST  23:23 UT   SidTim  252 deg  Begin obstac
Moonset    20:28 CLST  23:28 UT   SidTim  253 deg  
Eve. -18   20:42 CLST  23:42 UT   SidTim  256 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:45 CLST  04:45 UT   SidTim  332 deg  
Morn -18   06:49 CLST  09:49 UT   SidTim   48 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   SidTim   52 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:26 CLST  10:26 UT   SidTim   57 deg  
Sunrise    08:01 CLST  11:01 UT   SidTim   66 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 170.1, Dec 6.9 Phase: 0.082

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:45 CLT to 07:26 CLT (may start late to account for ToO at beginning of night)
  • Normal flat sequence
  • ToO, whose time we get this from?
  • 1 standard star field at midpoint + ToO time
UT Date = '2017/08/22 04:46'     Local time = 01:46
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
  • obstac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/22 10:07'     Local time = 07:07
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • Two ToO to be done tonight.
  • Continue not filling DM quality table

Other Notes

*