Project

General

Profile

08222016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57623 (starting evening of August 22, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Marc Manera (observer 1)
  • Kathy Vivas (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57623, date 20160822, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:54 CLST     UT 16:54     SidTim 10:18
Sunset     19:29 CLST  22:29 UT   SidTim  238 deg  
Eve. -10   20:05 CLST  23:05 UT   SidTim  247 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:23 CLST  23:23 UT   SidTim  252 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:42 CLST  23:42 UT   SidTim  256 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:08 CLST  03:08 UT   SidTim  308 deg  
Midpoint   01:45 CLST  04:45 UT   SidTim  332 deg  
Morn -18   06:49 CLST  09:49 UT   SidTim   48 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   SidTim   52 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:26 CLST  10:26 UT   SidTim   57 deg  
Sunrise    08:01 CLST  11:01 UT   SidTim   66 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 34.4, Dec 9.7 Phase: 0.672

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First night observer is Albert Lee (Harvard, PI: Finkbeiner)
  • DES 01:45 CLT to 07:26 CLT
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/23 04:45'     Local time = 01:45
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secs 1.6 <-- do this one
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) + one caalspec [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/08/23 10:06'     Local time = 07:06
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0103-0020_CCD_35  ra 01:03:22  dec -00:15:48  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X2    short    2016-02-09 01:31:17.064461+00:00
SN-C1    short    2016-03-09 01:41:07.996837+00:00
SN-C2    short    2016-03-09 02:00:34.019793+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-08-14 04:59:03.759214+00:00
SN-E1    short    2016-08-14 05:18:29.074575+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2016-08-14 06:46:24.495877+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-08-14 07:53:55.973951+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-08-14 08:27:58.819648+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2016-08-14 08:51:03.899069+00:00
SN-S2    short    2016-08-15 07:43:52.067781+00:00
SN-S1    short    2016-08-15 08:03:16.734977+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2016-08-15 08:33:00.226483+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2016-08-15 08:46:12.130662+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2016-08-15 09:20:09.570150+00:00
SN-X1    short    2016-08-15 09:50:25.806848+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2016-08-16 06:53:22.300732+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

*

Other Notes