Project

General

Profile

08212017

08202017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57987 (starting evening of August 21, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Eduardo Balbinot (observer 1)
  • Kathy Vivas (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57987, date 20170821, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:45 CLST     UT 18:45     SidTim 12:04
Sunset     19:29 CLST  22:29 UT   SidTim  237 deg  
Eve. -10   20:04 CLST  23:04 UT   SidTim  246 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:23 CLST  23:23 UT   SidTim  250 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:41 CLST  23:41 UT   SidTim  255 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  331 deg  
Morn -18   06:50 CLST  09:50 UT   SidTim   47 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:07 CLST  10:07 UT   SidTim   52 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:27 CLST  10:27 UT   SidTim   56 deg  
Sunrise    08:02 CLST  11:02 UT   SidTim   65 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 157.0, Dec 11.0 Phase: 0.013

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:46 CLT to 07:27 CLT (may start late to account for ToO at beginning of night)
  • Only one set of dome flats (do two sets tomorrow)
  • First ToO in evening twilight, then hand over to DECaLS (K Vivas observing for them). Give back to DECaLS all time used in the ToO.
  • 1 standard star field at swithchover
UT Date = '2017/08/22 04:46'     Local time = 01:46
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
  • obstac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/22 10:07'     Local time = 07:07
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • Important: finish SN sequences even if it is time for standards.

Other Notes

*