Project

General

Profile

08212015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57256 (starting evening of Aug 21, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night.

Observers

  • Anna Schooneveld (observer 2)
  • Michael Baumer (observer 1, run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57256, date 20150821, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:00 CLST     UT 20:00     SidTim 13:16
Sunset     19:29 CLST  22:29 UT   SidTim  236 deg  
Eve. -10   20:04 CLST  23:04 UT   SidTim  245 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:23 CLST  23:23 UT   SidTim  250 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:41 CLST  23:41 UT   SidTim  254 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   SidTim  328 deg  
Midpoint   01:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  330 deg  
Morn -18   06:50 CLST  09:50 UT   SidTim   47 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:08 CLST  10:08 UT   SidTim   51 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:28 CLST  10:28 UT   SidTim   56 deg  
Sunrise    08:03 CLST  11:03 UT   SidTim   65 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 229.6, Dec -13.8 Phase: 0.427

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Handover from community team
  • midnight standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/08/22 04:46'     Local time = 01:46
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Obstac until standards (clear) or 07:19 (cloudy)
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/08/22 10:08'     Local time = 07:08
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Things to keep in mind:
    • Watch for opportunity to do ptc scan. "Opportunity"= dome closed at night.
    • defocus_nightly.json is suppose to be run weekly- when are we running next?
      • According to Aaron, photometric conditions aren't important, but seeing should be below 1.2-1.3"

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

  • SISPI GUI starts running 5 minutes behind starting at 10:20 or 10:22UT. Gui commands are instant, but GUI report is stalled.

Other Notes

  • Are there data to declare bad?
    • Run apply_data_gui around midnight
  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-08-16 07:21:10.912875+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-08-18 05:10:02.444071+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-08-18 05:29:26.908197+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-08-18 06:24:41.071989+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-08-18 06:55:39.217558+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-18 07:16:08.005556+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-19 06:46:27.472666+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-08-19 07:54:29.503592+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-08-19 08:13:50.887950+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-08-19 08:26:53.264549+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-08-19 08:56:23.913999+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-08-19 09:37:04.898586+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-08-21 06:48:39.713315+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-08-21 07:59:35.199632+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-08-21 08:52:36.501165+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-08-21 09:51:04.900456+00:00