Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56891 (starting evening of Aug 21, 2014)

Observers

  • Steve Kent
  • Rich Kron

CTIO staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac

mjd 56891, date 20140821, Site CTIO, UT-offset 4 hr
Current local time 20:22 CLST     UT 00:22     SidTim 17:39
Sunset     18:29 CLST  22:29 UT   SidTim  236 deg  
Eve. -10   19:04 CLST  23:04 UT   SidTim  246 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:23 CLST  23:23 UT   SidTim  250 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:41 CLST  23:41 UT   SidTim  255 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   00:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  331 deg  
Moonrise   05:01 CLST  09:01 UT   SidTim   35 deg  
Morn -18   05:50 CLST  09:50 UT   SidTim   47 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:07 CLST  10:07 UT   SidTim   51 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:27 CLST  10:27 UT   SidTim   56 deg  
Sunrise    07:03 CLST  11:03 UT   SidTim   65 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 113.4, Dec 16.8 Phase: 0.227

Weather Conditions

Clear

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - Community Observing flats & zeros
  2. 2nd half observing only
  3. 2 midpoint standards
  4. ObsTac
  5. 3 end of night standards
  6. End of night calibrations
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json