Project

General

Profile

08202017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57986 (starting evening of August 20, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Erika Cook (observer 1)
  • Jen Marshall (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57986, date 20170820, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 03:17 CLST     UT 06:17     SidTim 23:31
Sunset     19:28 CLST  22:28 UT   SidTim  236 deg  
Eve. -10   20:04 CLST  23:04 UT   SidTim  244 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:22 CLST  23:22 UT   SidTim  249 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:41 CLST  23:41 UT   SidTim  254 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  330 deg  
Morn -18   06:51 CLST  09:51 UT   SidTim   46 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:08 CLST  10:08 UT   SidTim   51 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:28 CLST  10:28 UT   SidTim   56 deg  
Sunrise    08:03 CLST  11:03 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 143.2, Dec 14.5 Phase: 0.060

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:46 CLT to 07:29 CLT (start late to account for ToO at beginning of night)
  • Two sets of ugrizY domeflats
  • First ToO in evening twilight, then hand over to second half observers (Ting and Yuanyuan for DECalS)
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover 
--------------------------------------------------
UT Date = '2017/08/21 04:46'     Local time = 01:46
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6

  • obstac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/21 10:08'     Local time = 07:08
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • WOD: DECam already looks good.

Other Notes

  • 4pm meeting tomorrow.