Project

General

Profile

08192017 » History » Version 3

Jennifer Marshall, 08/19/2017 02:36 PM

1 1 Jennifer Marshall
h1. 08192017
2 1 Jennifer Marshall
3 1 Jennifer Marshall
h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57985 (starting evening of August 19, 2017)
4 1 Jennifer Marshall
5 1 Jennifer Marshall
DES has the second half of the night. 
6 1 Jennifer Marshall
7 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Observers
8 1 Jennifer Marshall
9 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Erika Cook (observer 1)
10 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Jen Marshall (observer 2/run manager)
11 1 Jennifer Marshall
12 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. CTIO Staff
13 1 Jennifer Marshall
14 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Hernan Tirado -  Obs. Support
15 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Claudio Aguilera - operator
16 1 Jennifer Marshall
* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
17 1 Jennifer Marshall
18 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Almanac
19 1 Jennifer Marshall
20 1 Jennifer Marshall
<pre>
21 2 Jennifer Marshall
mjd 57985, date 20170819, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
22 2 Jennifer Marshall
Current local time 16:35 CLST     UT 19:35     SidTim 12:45
23 2 Jennifer Marshall
Sunset     19:28 CLST  22:28 UT   SidTim  234 deg  
24 2 Jennifer Marshall
Eve. -10   20:03 CLST  23:03 UT   SidTim  244 deg  Zeropoint; standards
25 2 Jennifer Marshall
Eve. -14   20:22 CLST  23:22 UT   SidTim  248 deg  Begin obstac
26 2 Jennifer Marshall
Eve. -18   20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   SidTim  253 deg  Last chance standards
27 2 Jennifer Marshall
Midpoint   01:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  329 deg  
28 2 Jennifer Marshall
Morn -18   06:52 CLST  09:52 UT   SidTim   46 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
29 2 Jennifer Marshall
Morn Std   07:09 CLST  10:09 UT   SidTim   50 deg  End obstac; begin standards
30 2 Jennifer Marshall
Moonrise   07:16 CLST  10:16 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
31 2 Jennifer Marshall
Morn -10   07:29 CLST  10:29 UT   SidTim   55 deg  
32 2 Jennifer Marshall
Sunrise    08:04 CLST  11:04 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
33 2 Jennifer Marshall
Moon position (deg): RA 128.8, Dec 17.3 Phase: 0.136
34 1 Jennifer Marshall
</pre>
35 1 Jennifer Marshall
36 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Weather Conditions
37 1 Jennifer Marshall
38 1 Jennifer Marshall
*  Some clouds in the afternoon.
39 1 Jennifer Marshall
* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
40 1 Jennifer Marshall
41 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
42 1 Jennifer Marshall
43 1 Jennifer Marshall
* DES second half night: 01:46 CLT to 07:29 CLT
44 1 Jennifer Marshall
45 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Two sets of ugrizY domeflats
46 1 Jennifer Marshall
47 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Standards
48 1 Jennifer Marshall
49 1 Jennifer Marshall
<pre>
50 1 Jennifer Marshall
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover 
51 1 Jennifer Marshall
--------------------------------------------------
52 3 Jennifer Marshall
UT Date = '2017/08/20 04:46'     Local time = 01:46
53 1 Jennifer Marshall
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
54 1 Jennifer Marshall
55 1 Jennifer Marshall
</pre>
56 1 Jennifer Marshall
57 1 Jennifer Marshall
* First ToO in evening twilight, then hand over to second half observers (Ting and Yuanyuan for DECalS)
58 1 Jennifer Marshall
* obstac
59 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Start second ToO at 0600 UT for 3.5 hr
60 1 Jennifer Marshall
* obstac 
61 1 Jennifer Marshall
62 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
63 1 Jennifer Marshall
64 1 Jennifer Marshall
<pre>
65 3 Jennifer Marshall
UT Date = '2017/08/20 07:09'     Local time = 04:09
66 3 Jennifer Marshall
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
67 3 Jennifer Marshall
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
68 1 Jennifer Marshall
</pre>
69 1 Jennifer Marshall
70 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Useful links
71 1 Jennifer Marshall
72 1 Jennifer Marshall
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
73 1 Jennifer Marshall
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
74 1 Jennifer Marshall
75 1 Jennifer Marshall
h2. Notes from 4PM Meeting
76 1 Jennifer Marshall
77 1 Jennifer Marshall
* WOD: We're makin a movie.
78 1 Jennifer Marshall
79 1 Jennifer Marshall
h2. Other Notes
80 1 Jennifer Marshall
81 1 Jennifer Marshall
* 4pm meeting tomorrow.