Project

General

Profile

08192017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57985 (starting evening of August 19, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Erika Cook (observer 1)
  • Jen Marshall (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57985, date 20170819, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:35 CLST     UT 19:35     SidTim 12:45
Sunset     19:28 CLST  22:28 UT   SidTim  234 deg  
Eve. -10   20:03 CLST  23:03 UT   SidTim  244 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:22 CLST  23:22 UT   SidTim  248 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   SidTim  253 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  329 deg  
Morn -18   06:52 CLST  09:52 UT   SidTim   46 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:09 CLST  10:09 UT   SidTim   50 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Moonrise   07:16 CLST  10:16 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Morn -10   07:29 CLST  10:29 UT   SidTim   55 deg  
Sunrise    08:04 CLST  11:04 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 128.8, Dec 17.3 Phase: 0.136

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:46 CLT to 07:29 CLT
  • Two sets of ugrizY domeflats
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover 
--------------------------------------------------
UT Date = '2017/08/20 04:46'     Local time = 01:46
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7

  • First ToO in evening twilight, then hand over to second half observers (Ting and Yuanyuan for DECalS)
  • obstac
  • Start second ToO at 0600 UT for 3.5 hr
  • obstac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/20 07:09'     Local time = 04:09
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • WOD: We're makin a movie.

Other Notes

  • 4pm meeting tomorrow.