Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56889 (starting evening of Aug 19, 2014)

Observers

  • Steve Kent
  • Rich Kron

CTIO staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac

mjd 56889, date 20140819, Site CTIO, UT-offset 4 hr
Current local time 19:55 CLST     UT 23:55     SidTim 17:05
Sunset     18:28 CLST  22:28 UT   SidTim  234 deg  
Eve. -10   19:03 CLST  23:03 UT   SidTim  243 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:22 CLST  23:22 UT   SidTim  248 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:40 CLST  23:40 UT   SidTim  252 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   00:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  329 deg  
Moonrise   03:32 CLST  07:32 UT   SidTim   10 deg  
Morn -18   05:52 CLST  09:52 UT   SidTim   46 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:09 CLST  10:09 UT   SidTim   50 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:29 CLST  10:29 UT   SidTim   55 deg  
Sunrise    07:05 CLST  11:05 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 88.6, Dec 19.0 Phase: 0.355

Weather Conditions

Clear

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - Community Observing flats & zeros
  2. 2nd half observing only
  3. 2 midpoint standards
  4. ObsTac
  5. 3 end of night standards
  6. End of night calibrations
  7. If time, focal plane defocus
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json