Project

General

Profile

08182017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57984 (starting evening of August 18, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Erika Cook (observer 1)
  • Jen Marshall (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57984, date 20170818, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:00 CLST     UT 20:00     SidTim 13:07
Sunset     19:27 CLST  22:27 UT   SidTim  234 deg  
Eve. -10   20:03 CLST  23:03 UT   SidTim  242 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:21 CLST  23:21 UT   SidTim  247 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   SidTim  252 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  328 deg  
Moonrise   06:23 CLST  09:23 UT   SidTim   38 deg  
Morn -18   06:53 CLST  09:53 UT   SidTim   45 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:10 CLST  10:10 UT   SidTim   49 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:30 CLST  10:30 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Sunrise    08:06 CLST  11:06 UT   SidTim   63 deg 

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:47 CLT to 07:33 CLT
  • Two sets of ugrizY domeflats
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover 
--------------------------------------------------
UT Date = '2017/08/19 04:46'     Local time = 01:46
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7

  • obstac early will do SN E1, then WF
  • Start second ToO at 0600 UT for 3.5 hr
  • obstac WF, maybe z at end of night
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/19 10:10'     Local time = 07:10
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • WOD: 2 ToO tonight.

Other Notes

  • Maybe no 4pm meeting tomorrow since there will be a film crew on the mountain in the afternoon. TBC.