Project

General

Profile

08182015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57253 (starting evening of Aug 18, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night.

Observers

  • Michael Baumer (observer 2)
  • Jim Annis (observer 1, run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Leonardo Paredes -float operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57253, date 20150818, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:09 CLST     UT 18:09     SidTim 11:13
Sunset     19:27 CLST  22:27 UT   SidTim  233 deg  
Eve. -10   20:02 CLST  23:02 UT   SidTim  242 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:21 CLST  23:21 UT   SidTim  246 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   SidTim  251 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:00 CLST  02:00 UT   SidTim  286 deg  
Midpoint   01:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  328 deg  
Morn -18   06:53 CLST  09:53 UT   SidTim   44 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:11 CLST  10:11 UT   SidTim   49 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:31 CLST  10:31 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Sunrise    08:06 CLST  11:06 UT   SidTim   63 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 194.6, Dec -4.5 Phase: 0.246

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Handover from community team
  • midnight standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/08/19 04:47'     Local time = 01:47
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Obstac
  • morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/08/19 10:11'     Local time = 07:11
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Things to keep in mind:
    • Watch for opportunity to do ptc scan. "Opportunity"= dome closed at night.
    • defocus_nightly.json is suppose to be run weekly- when are we running next?
      • According to Aaron, photometric conditions aren't important, but seeing should be below 1.2-1.3"

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

  • SISPI is having problems at the end of the night. Likely GUI only, likely related to number of items in queue.
    Do standard star observations one star at a time.
  • We are discussing the atmCam operations with Ting and Hernan
  • Klaus requests a handful of diagnostics iff the SISPI guy slows way down tonight:
    • try refreshing the ics guy
    • try starting a SISPI guy on a laptop- no control possible but of interest is whether it is also slow
    • look at network traffic on observer1
    • in general keep an eye out for details of interest.

Other Notes

  • Are there data to declare bad?

Yes, the apply_data_gui shows many (100?) main survey observations to
declare bad- these are from nights earlier in the run. It seems
processing is catching up.

  • When were the SN last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-X2    short    2015-08-15 06:41:51.900984+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-08-15 07:01:16.861576+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-08-15 07:14:26.735919+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-08-15 07:37:34.202069+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-08-15 08:11:40.772673+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-08-15 09:19:11.372800+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-08-15 09:39:51.049968+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-08-16 06:57:56.811583+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-08-16 07:21:10.912875+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-08-16 07:55:11.590322+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-16 08:14:45.193970+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-08-18 05:10:02.444071+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-08-18 05:29:26.908197+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-08-18 06:24:41.071989+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-08-18 06:55:39.217558+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-18 07:16:08.005556+00:00