Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56888 (starting evening of Aug 18, 2014)

Observers

  • Steve Kent
  • Rich Kron

CTIO staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac

mjd 56888, date 20140818, Site CTIO, UT-offset 4 hr
Current local time 19:48 CLST     UT 23:48     SidTim 16:54
Sunset     18:27 CLST  22:27 UT   SidTim  233 deg  
Eve. -10   19:02 CLST  23:02 UT   SidTim  242 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:21 CLST  23:21 UT   SidTim  247 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:40 CLST  23:40 UT   SidTim  252 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   00:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  328 deg  
Moonrise   02:43 CLST  06:43 UT   SidTim  357 deg  
Morn -18   05:53 CLST  09:53 UT   SidTim   45 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:10 CLST  10:10 UT   SidTim   49 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:30 CLST  10:30 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Sunrise    07:06 CLST  11:06 UT   SidTim   63 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 75.8, Dec 18.9 Phase: 0.421

Weather Conditions

Clear

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - Community Observing flats & zeros
  2. 2nd half observing only
  3. 2 midpoint standards
  4. ObsTac
  5. 3 end of night standards
  6. End of night calibrations
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json