Project

General

Profile

08172017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57983 (starting evening of August 17, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Marcus Sauseda (observer 1)
  • Erika Cook (observer 2)
  • Jen Marshall (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Alfredo Zenteno - night support for first half observer
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57983, date 20170817, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:09 CLST     UT 19:09     SidTim 12:12
Sunset     19:27 CLST  22:27 UT   SidTim  232 deg
Eve. -10   20:02 CLST  23:02 UT   SidTim  241 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:21 CLST  23:21 UT   SidTim  246 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   SidTim  250 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  328 deg
Moonrise   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   SidTim   22 deg
Morn -18   06:54 CLST  09:54 UT   SidTim   44 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:11 CLST  10:11 UT   SidTim   48 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:31 CLST  10:31 UT   SidTim   54 deg
Sunrise    08:07 CLST  11:07 UT   SidTim   62 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 98.7, Dec 19.7 Phase: 0.294

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:47 CLT to 07:33 CLT
  • May be a ToO early in first half of night.
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover 
--------------------------------------------------
UT Date = '2017/08/18 04:47'     Local time = 01:47
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7 – use this one!
  • Obstac all night
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight (UT 2016/8/14 10:15:00)
----------------------------------------
UT Date = '2017/08/18 10:11'     Local time = 07:11
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8 – use all three!
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • WOD: The excitement never ends! (this turned out to be a severe understatement when considering what actually happened tonight)

Other Notes