Project

General

Profile

08172015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57251 (starting evening of Aug 17, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night.

Observers

  • Michael Baumer (observer 1)
  • Jim Annis (observer 2, run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs, Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57252, date 20150817, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:45 CLST     UT 19:45     SidTim 12:46
Sunset     19:26 CLST  22:26 UT   SidTim  232 deg  
Eve. -10   20:02 CLST  23:02 UT   SidTim  241 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:21 CLST  23:21 UT   SidTim  246 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   SidTim  250 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:08 CLST  01:08 UT   SidTim  272 deg  
Midpoint   01:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  327 deg  
Morn -18   06:54 CLST  09:54 UT   SidTim   44 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:12 CLST  10:12 UT   SidTim   48 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:32 CLST  10:32 UT   SidTim   53 deg  
Sunrise    08:07 CLST  11:07 UT   SidTim   62 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 183.4, Dec -0.9 Phase: 0.188

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Handover from community team
  • midnight standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/08/18 04:47'     Local time = 01:47
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Obstac
  • morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/08/18 10:12'     Local time = 07:12
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Watch for opportunity to do ptc scam. "Opportunity"= dome closed at night.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps