Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56887 (starting evening of Aug 17, 2014)

Observers

  • Steve Kent
  • Rich Kron

CTIO staff

  • Manual Hernandez
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac

mjd 56887, date 20140817, Site CTIO, UT-offset 4 hr
Current local time 15:38 CLST     UT 19:38     SidTim 12:40
Sunset     18:26 CLST  22:26 UT   SidTim  232 deg
Eve. -10   19:02 CLST  23:02 UT   SidTim  241 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:21 CLST  23:21 UT   SidTim  246 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:39 CLST  23:39 UT   SidTim  250 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   00:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  327 deg
Moonrise   01:50 CLST  05:50 UT   SidTim  343 deg
Morn -18   05:54 CLST  09:54 UT   SidTim   44 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:11 CLST  10:11 UT   SidTim   48 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:31 CLST  10:31 UT   SidTim   53 deg
Sunrise    07:07 CLST  11:07 UT   SidTim   62 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 62.7, Dec 17.8 Phase: 0.488

Weather Conditions

Clear

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - Community Observing flats & zeros
  2. 2nd half observing only
  3. 2 midpoint standards
  4. ObsTac
  5. 3 end of night standards
  6. End of night calibrations
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json