Project

General

Profile

08162017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57982 (starting evening of August 16, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Erika Cook (observer 1)
  • Marcus Sauseda (observer 2)
  • Jen Marshall (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57982, date 20170816, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:55 CLST     UT 18:55     SidTim 11:54
Sunset     19:26 CLST  22:26 UT   SidTim  231 deg  
Eve. -10   20:02 CLST  23:02 UT   SidTim  240 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:20 CLST  23:20 UT   SidTim  245 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   SidTim  250 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  326 deg  
Moonrise   04:24 CLST  07:24 UT   SidTim    6 deg  
Morn -18   06:55 CLST  09:55 UT   SidTim   44 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:12 CLST  10:12 UT   SidTim   48 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:32 CLST  10:32 UT   SidTim   53 deg  
Sunrise    08:08 CLST  11:08 UT   SidTim   62 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 83.6, Dec 19.0 Phase: 0.372

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:47 CLT to 07:33 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover (UT 2017/8/16 04:47:00)
--------------------------------------------------
UT Date = '2017/08/16 04:47'     Local time = 01:47
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
  • obstac: run until any SN X fiueld appears, then switch to ToO.
  • ToO for ~2 hours starting at UT 0600/CLT 0300 (maybe 30 minutes early)

*obstac until twilight.

  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight (UT 2016/8/14 10:15:00)
----------------------------------------
UT Date = '2017/08/16 10:13'     Local time = 07:13
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4   
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • WOD:

Other Notes