Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56886 (starting evening of Aug 16, 2014)

Observers

  • David James
  • Steve Kent
  • Rich Kron

CTIO staff

  • Manual Hernandez
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac

mjd 56886, date 20140816, Site CTIO, UT-offset 4 hr
Current local time 17:05 CLST     UT 21:05     SidTim 14:03
Sunset     18:26 CLST  22:26 UT   SidTim  231 deg  
Eve. -10   19:01 CLST  23:01 UT   SidTim  240 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:20 CLST  23:20 UT   SidTim  244 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:39 CLST  23:39 UT   SidTim  249 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   00:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  326 deg  
Moonrise   00:54 CLST  04:54 UT   SidTim  328 deg  
Morn -18   05:55 CLST  09:55 UT   SidTim   43 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:12 CLST  10:12 UT   SidTim   48 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:32 CLST  10:32 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Sunrise    07:08 CLST  11:08 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 49.5, Dec 15.9 Phase: 0.555

Weather Conditions

Clear

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - Community Observing flats & zeros
  2. 2nd half observing only
  3. 2 midpoint standards
  4. ObsTac
  5. 3 end of night standards
  6. End of night calibrations
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json