Project

General

Profile

08152016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57616 (starting evening of August 15, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Katelyn Stringer (observer 1)
  • Jen Marshall (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57616, date 20160815, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 00:43 CLST     UT 03:43     SidTim 20:39
Sunset     19:26 CLST  22:26 UT   SidTim  230 deg  
Eve. -10   20:01 CLST  23:01 UT   SidTim  239 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:20 CLST  23:20 UT   SidTim  244 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   SidTim  249 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  326 deg  
Moonset    06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   SidTim   40 deg  
Morn -18   06:55 CLST  09:55 UT   SidTim   43 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:13 CLST  10:13 UT   SidTim   47 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:33 CLST  10:33 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Sunrise    08:08 CLST  11:08 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 296.9, Dec -16.9 Phase: 0.829

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 01:47 CLT to 07:33 CLT
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
Middle-of-Night Switchover (UT 2016/8/16 04:47:00)
--------------------------------------------------
fieldname                   MoonSep(Deg)       HA       ZD(Deg)     Airmass  
---------                   ------------    ---------   ------   ---------------  
SDSSJ0100-0000                  78.84       -03:17:03    55.69     1.77 (high)  <-- do this one!
SDSSJ0000-0000                  64.57       -02:17:04    44.45     1.40 (medium)
SDSSJ2140-0000                  32.66        00:02:55    30.24     1.16 (low)
  • obstac: wide field if good seeing, zY because of the moon
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) airmass), one calspec (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
 
UT Date = '2016/08/23 10:06' Morning Twilight (UT 2016/8/16 10:13:00) 
---------------------------------------- 
fieldname MoonSep(Deg) HA ZD(Deg) Local time = 07:06  Airmass 
--------- ------------ --------- ------ --------------- 
SDSSJ0000-0000 61.91 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secs 1.9 <-- 03:09:49 54.26 1.71 (high) 
SDSSJ0100-0000 SDSSJ0103-0020_CCD_35.json 76.94 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secs 1.5 02:06:27 42.44 1.35 (medium) <-- calspec std 
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 109.75 -00:10:09 30.31 1.16 (low) 

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

*

"Season 4, Episode 2 : The Mystery of the Missing Manifest"

Other Notes