Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56885 (starting evening of Aug 15, 2014)

Observers

  • David James
  • Steve Kent

CTIO staff

  • Manual Hernandez
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac

mjd 56885, date 20140815, Site CTIO, UT-offset 4 hr
Current local time 15:53 CLST     UT 19:53     SidTim 12:47
Sunset     18:25 CLST  22:25 UT   SidTim  230 deg  
Eve. -10   19:01 CLST  23:01 UT   SidTim  239 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:20 CLST  23:20 UT   SidTim  244 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:38 CLST  23:38 UT   SidTim  248 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:55 CLST  03:55 UT   SidTim  312 deg  
Midpoint   00:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  325 deg  
Morn -18   05:56 CLST  09:56 UT   SidTim   42 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:13 CLST  10:13 UT   SidTim   47 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:33 CLST  10:33 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Sunrise    07:09 CLST  11:09 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 36.2, Dec 13.1 Phase: 0.623

Weather Conditions

Clear

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - Community Observing flats & zeros
  2. 2nd half observing only
  3. 2 midpoint standards
  4. ObsTac
  5. 3 end of night standards
  6. End of night calibrations
    1. if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_zeros.json
    2. otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json