Project

General

Profile

08142016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57615 (starting evening of August 14, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Katelyn Stringer (observer 1)
  • Jen Marshall (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57615, date 20160814, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 00:42 CLST     UT 03:42     SidTim 20:34
Sunset     19:25 CLST  22:25 UT   SidTim  229 deg  
Eve. -10   20:01 CLST  23:01 UT   SidTim  238 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:19 CLST  23:19 UT   SidTim  243 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   SidTim  248 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  325 deg  
Moonset    05:54 CLST  08:54 UT   SidTim   26 deg  
Morn -18   06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   SidTim   42 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:14 CLST  10:14 UT   SidTim   46 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:34 CLST  10:34 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Sunrise    08:09 CLST  11:09 UT   SidTim   60 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 283.1, Dec -18.0 Phase: 0.758

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 01:47 CLT to 07:34 CLT
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
Middle-of-Night Switchover (UT 2016/8/15 04:47:00)
--------------------------------------------------
fieldname                   MoonSep(Deg)       HA       ZD(Deg)     Airmass  
---------                   ------------    ---------   ------   ---------------  
SDSSJ0100-0000                  92.02       -03:21:00    56.47     1.81 (high)  <-- do this one!
SDSSJ0000-0000                  77.77       -02:21:00    45.14     1.42 (medium)
SDSSJ2140-0000                  45.15       -00:01:00    30.24     1.16 (low)
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass), one calspec (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
Morning Twilight (UT 2016/8/15 10:14:00)
----------------------------------------
fieldname                   MoonSep(Deg)       HA       ZD(Deg)     Airmass  
---------                   ------------    ---------   ------   ---------------  
Feige110_CCD_62.json            63.89        03:46:54    58.89     1.93 (high) <-- calspec std
SDSSJ0000-0000                  74.96        03:06:53    53.69     1.69 (high)
SDSSJ0320-0000                 122.41       -00:13:06    30.38     1.16 (low)

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

  • "Season 4, Episode 1: We have standards"

Other Notes