Project

General

Profile

08132016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57614 (starting evening of August 13, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Katelyn Stringer (observer 1)
  • Jen Marshall (observer 2/run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57614, date 20160813, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 00:41 CLST     UT 03:41     SidTim 20:29
Sunset     18:24 CLST  22:24 UT   SidTim  228 deg  
Eve. -10   19:00 CLST  23:00 UT   SidTim  237 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:19 CLST  23:19 UT   SidTim  242 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:38 CLST  23:38 UT   SidTim  246 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  324 deg  
Moonset    05:03 CLST  08:03 UT   SidTim   13 deg  
Morn -18   06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   SidTim   41 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   07:15 CLST  10:15 UT   SidTim   46 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:35 CLST  10:35 UT   SidTim   51 deg  
Sunrise    08:10 CLST  11:10 UT   SidTim   60 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 269.6, Dec -18.1 Phase: 0.688

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 01:47 CLT to 07:35 CLT
  • One middle of night standard [grizY ordered scripts]
Middle-of-Night Switchover (UT 2016/8/14 04:47:00)
--------------------------------------------------
fieldname                   MoonSep(Deg)       HA       ZD(Deg)     Airmass  
---------                   ------------    ---------   ------   ---------------  
SDSSJ0100-0000                 104.81       -03:24:56    57.26     1.84 (high)  <-- do this one!
SDSSJ0000-0000                  90.58       -02:24:57    45.84     1.43 (medium)
SDSSJ2140-0000                  57.54       -00:04:57    30.26     1.16 (low)
  • obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass), one calspec (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
Morning Twilight (UT 2016/8/14 10:15:00)
----------------------------------------
fieldname                   MoonSep(Deg)       HA       ZD(Deg)     Airmass  
---------                   ------------    ---------   ------   ---------------  
SDSSJ0000-0000                  87.64        03:03:56    53.12     1.66 (high)
SDSSJ0103-0020_CCD_35.json     102.62        02:00:34    41.47     1.33 (medium) <-- calspec std
SDSSJ0320-0000                 134.58       -00:16:02    30.46     1.16 (low)

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

  • Calibration systems aTmCam, Rasicam, GPSmon, TASCA, DIMMs are functional
  • change in standard procedure--1 normal standard at switchover, 2 normal + 1 calspec std at twilight
  • Tonight's observing plan:
    • SN e1/e3, x3 on deadman
    • Widefield
    • Moon early, izy, then maybe gr
    • First few nights of Y4 expect more slewing than usual--obstac is trying to clean up missing fields in tiles 1-4
  • Run manager will pass along data quality assessment
  • Will use domeflats from prev. afternoon (no need to take more in the morning)
  • Be sure TelOps runs end of night script to take biases and shut off vsub (this is standard practice)
  • Remember to submit nightsum at end of night
  • Some kentools upgrades:
    • repaired bug in flatcheck. need new flats
    • repaired timezone
    • new command "calspec" to include calspec standards
  • Internet on mountain is very slow
  • Redmine page not working on obs3/2--update: Redmine is accessible via Firefox but not Chrome
  • Next 4pm meeting is Sunday afternoon
  • y4 is gonna be great

Other Notes