Project

General

Profile

02222018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Bruno Moraes (Observer 1, RM)
  • Reese Wilkinson (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58172, date 20180222, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:34 CLST     UT 18:34     SidTim 00:02
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:31 CLST  23:31 UT   04:59   75 deg  
Eve. -10   21:07 CLST  00:07 UT   05:35   84 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:26 CLST  00:26 UT   05:54   88 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   06:14   94 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:57 CLST  03:57 UT   09:25  141 deg  
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   10:25  156 deg  
Morn -18   06:07 CLST  09:07 UT   14:35  219 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   14:54  224 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   15:14  228 deg  
Sunrise    07:22 CLST  10:22 UT   15:50  238 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 60.9, Dec 16.2 Phase: 0.457

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: 6% clouds, mostly clear
  • Forecast is clear all night

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear
  • humidity: 65-70% expected
  • temp: ~12°C expected
  • wind: Minimal

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
  • Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
  • Handover to second-half observer at 0:57am local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/23 00:07'     Local time = 21:07
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
E1-A                  ra 01:24:50  dec -44:33:40  secz 1.6
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/23 03:57'     Local time = 00:57
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-11 00:44:55.939087+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-12 00:44:46.292668+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-12 01:18:46.555413+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-15 00:43:11.649992+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-18 00:37:52.082707+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps