Project

General

Profile

02202018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Bruno Moraes (Observer 2)
  • Reese Wilkinson (Observer 1, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez, Jacqueline Seron - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58170, date 20180220, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:49 CLST     UT 17:49     SidTim 23:09
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   04:53   73 deg  
Eve. -10   21:09 CLST  00:09 UT   05:29   82 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   05:49   87 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   06:09   92 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:33 CLST  02:33 UT   07:54  118 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   10:17  154 deg  
Morn -18   06:05 CLST  09:05 UT   14:25  216 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:25 CLST  09:25 UT   14:45  221 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:45 CLST  09:45 UT   15:05  226 deg  
Sunrise    07:21 CLST  10:21 UT   15:41  235 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 34.2, Dec 8.8 Phase: 0.319

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: clear
  • Forecast is for partial cloud cover

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear
  • humidity: 66% expected
  • temp: ~12°C expected
  • wind: Minimal

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
  • Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
  • Handover to second-half observer at 0:57am local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg

UT Date = '2018/02/21 00:09'     Local time = 21:09
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/21 03:57'     Local time = 00:57
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-11 00:44:55.939087+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-12 00:44:46.292668+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-12 01:18:46.555413+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-15 00:43:11.649992+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-18 00:37:52.082707+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps