Project

General

Profile

02192018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Bruno Mores (Observer 1)
  • Reese Wilkinson (Observer 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez, Jacqueline Seron - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58169, date 20180219, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:14 CLST     UT 14:14     SidTim 19:30
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:34 CLST  23:34 UT   04:50   72 deg  
Eve. -10   21:10 CLST  00:10 UT   05:26   82 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   05:46   86 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:50 CLST  00:50 UT   06:06   92 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:56 CLST  01:56 UT   07:13  108 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   10:13  153 deg  
Morn -18   06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   14:20  215 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:24 CLST  09:24 UT   14:40  220 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   15:00  225 deg  
Sunrise    07:20 CLST  10:20 UT   15:36  234 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 21.7, Dec 4.5 Phase: 0.254

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: clear
  • Forecast is for partial cloud cover

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 10% cloud cover
  • humidity: 74% expected
  • temp: ~10°C expected
  • wind: Minimal

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
  • Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
  • Handover to second-half observer at 0:57am local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg

UT Date = '2018/02/20 00:10'     Local time = 21:10
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY

UT Date = '2018/02/20 03:57'     Local time = 00:57
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-11 00:44:55.939087+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-12 00:44:46.292668+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-12 01:18:46.555413+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-15 00:43:11.649992+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-18 00:37:52.082707+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps