Project

General

Profile

02182018 » History » Version 1

Reese Wilkinson, 02/18/2018 05:06 PM

1 1 Reese Wilkinson
h1. 02182018
2 1 Reese Wilkinson
3 1 Reese Wilkinson
First-half night for DES
4 1 Reese Wilkinson
5 1 Reese Wilkinson
h3. Observers
6 1 Reese Wilkinson
7 1 Reese Wilkinson
> to get the names, check the "shift table":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr6
8 1 Reese Wilkinson
9 1 Reese Wilkinson
* Bruno Mores (Observer 1)
10 1 Reese Wilkinson
* Reese Wilkinson (Observer 2, RM)
11 1 Reese Wilkinson
12 1 Reese Wilkinson
13 1 Reese Wilkinson
h3. CTIO Staff
14 1 Reese Wilkinson
15 1 Reese Wilkinson
> To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
16 1 Reese Wilkinson
17 1 Reese Wilkinson
* Jackie - Obs. Support
18 1 Reese Wilkinson
* Claudio Aguilera - Operator
19 1 Reese Wilkinson
20 1 Reese Wilkinson
h3. Almanac
21 1 Reese Wilkinson
22 1 Reese Wilkinson
> forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
23 1 Reese Wilkinson
24 1 Reese Wilkinson
<pre>
25 1 Reese Wilkinson
mjd 58168, date 20180218, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
26 1 Reese Wilkinson
Current local time 19:49 CLST     UT 22:49     SidTim 04:01
27 1 Reese Wilkinson
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
28 1 Reese Wilkinson
Sunset     20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   04:47   72 deg  
29 1 Reese Wilkinson
Eve. -10   21:11 CLST  00:11 UT   05:23   81 deg  Zeropoint; standards
30 1 Reese Wilkinson
Eve. -14   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   05:43   86 deg  Begin obstac
31 1 Reese Wilkinson
Eve. -18   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   06:03   91 deg  Last chance standards
32 1 Reese Wilkinson
Moonset    22:21 CLST  01:21 UT   06:33   98 deg  
33 1 Reese Wilkinson
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   10:09  152 deg  
34 1 Reese Wilkinson
Morn -18   06:03 CLST  09:03 UT   14:15  214 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
35 1 Reese Wilkinson
Morn -14   06:23 CLST  09:23 UT   14:35  219 deg  End obstac; begin standards
36 1 Reese Wilkinson
Morn -10   06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   14:55  224 deg  
37 1 Reese Wilkinson
Sunrise    07:19 CLST  10:19 UT   15:32  233 deg  
38 1 Reese Wilkinson
Moon position (deg): RA 9.5, Dec 0.1 Phase: 0.191
39 1 Reese Wilkinson
</pre>
40 1 Reese Wilkinson
41 1 Reese Wilkinson
h3. Weather Conditions
42 1 Reese Wilkinson
43 1 Reese Wilkinson
* at lunch: clear
44 1 Reese Wilkinson
* Forecast is to mostly clear
45 1 Reese Wilkinson
> "as predicted by hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
46 1 Reese Wilkinson
 
47 1 Reese Wilkinson
* clouds: 10% cloud cover between 02:00-04:00 UT, otherwise clear
48 1 Reese Wilkinson
* humidity: 77% expected (rises to 83% for second half of observing) 
49 1 Reese Wilkinson
* temp: ~10°C expected
50 1 Reese Wilkinson
* wind:  Minimal (~1m/s)
51 1 Reese Wilkinson
52 1 Reese Wilkinson
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
53 1 Reese Wilkinson
54 1 Reese Wilkinson
* First half DES, second half non-DES
55 1 Reese Wilkinson
* Evening standards (Yzirg)
56 1 Reese Wilkinson
* Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
57 1 Reese Wilkinson
* Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
58 1 Reese Wilkinson
* **Handover to second-half observer at 0:57am local time.**
59 1 Reese Wilkinson
60 1 Reese Wilkinson
> forgotten how to do this? Use standards with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
61 1 Reese Wilkinson
62 1 Reese Wilkinson
* 3 Evening standards 
63 1 Reese Wilkinson
Yzirg
64 1 Reese Wilkinson
65 1 Reese Wilkinson
<pre>
66 1 Reese Wilkinson
UT Date = '2018/02/19 00:11'     Local time = 21:11
67 1 Reese Wilkinson
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
68 1 Reese Wilkinson
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
69 1 Reese Wilkinson
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
70 1 Reese Wilkinson
</pre>
71 1 Reese Wilkinson
72 1 Reese Wilkinson
* 1 midpoint standard
73 1 Reese Wilkinson
grizY 
74 1 Reese Wilkinson
75 1 Reese Wilkinson
<pre>
76 1 Reese Wilkinson
UT Date = '2018/02/19 03:57'     Local time = 00:57
77 1 Reese Wilkinson
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
78 1 Reese Wilkinson
</pre>
79 1 Reese Wilkinson
80 1 Reese Wilkinson
h3. When were the last SN fields observed?
81 1 Reese Wilkinson
82 1 Reese Wilkinson
83 1 Reese Wilkinson
> forgotten how to do this? "Instructions here":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed
84 1 Reese Wilkinson
<pre>
85 1 Reese Wilkinson
hex_name 	seqtype 	last_complete
86 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-E1	short	2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
87 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-X3	long_g	2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
88 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-E2	short	2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
89 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-S2	short	2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
90 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-X3	long_z	2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
91 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-X1	short	2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
92 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-X2	short	2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
93 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-X3	long_r	2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
94 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-S1	short	2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
95 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-C3	long_z	2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
96 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-X3	long_i	2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
97 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-C3	long_r	2018-02-11 00:44:55.939087+00:00
98 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-C3	long_i	2018-02-12 00:44:46.292668+00:00
99 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-C3	long_g	2018-02-12 01:18:46.555413+00:00
100 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-C1	short	2018-02-15 00:43:11.649992+00:00
101 1 Reese Wilkinson
SN-C2	short	2018-02-18 00:37:52.082707+00:00
102 1 Reese Wilkinson
</pre>
103 1 Reese Wilkinson
104 1 Reese Wilkinson
h3. Useful links
105 1 Reese Wilkinson
  
106 1 Reese Wilkinson
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
107 1 Reese Wilkinson
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php