Project

General

Profile

02182018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Bruno Mores (Observer 1)
  • Reese Wilkinson (Observer 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Jackie - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58168, date 20180218, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:49 CLST     UT 22:49     SidTim 04:01
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   04:47   72 deg  
Eve. -10   21:11 CLST  00:11 UT   05:23   81 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   05:43   86 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   06:03   91 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:21 CLST  01:21 UT   06:33   98 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   10:09  152 deg  
Morn -18   06:03 CLST  09:03 UT   14:15  214 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:23 CLST  09:23 UT   14:35  219 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   14:55  224 deg  
Sunrise    07:19 CLST  10:19 UT   15:32  233 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 9.5, Dec 0.1 Phase: 0.191

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: clear
  • Forecast is to mostly clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 10% cloud cover between 02:00-04:00 UT, otherwise clear
  • humidity: 77% expected (rises to 83% for second half of observing)
  • temp: ~10°C expected
  • wind: Minimal (~1m/s)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
  • Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
  • Handover to second-half observer at 0:57am local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/19 00:11'     Local time = 21:11
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/19 03:57'     Local time = 00:57
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-11 00:44:55.939087+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-12 00:44:46.292668+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-12 01:18:46.555413+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-15 00:43:11.649992+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-18 00:37:52.082707+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps