Project

General

Profile

02172018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Bruno Mores (Observer 1)
  • Reese Wilkinson (Observer 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Jackie Seron - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58167, date 20180217, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:04 CLST     UT 18:04     SidTim 23:12
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   04:44   71 deg  
Eve. -10   21:12 CLST  00:12 UT   05:20   80 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:32 CLST  00:32 UT   05:40   85 deg  Begin obstac
Moonset    21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   05:54   88 deg  
Eve. -18   21:52 CLST  00:52 UT   06:01   90 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   10:05  151 deg  
Morn -18   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   14:10  212 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:22 CLST  09:22 UT   14:30  218 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   14:50  222 deg  
Sunrise    07:18 CLST  10:18 UT   15:27  232 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 357.5, Dec -4.2 Phase: 0.129

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: clear
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear from 00:00 UT onwards
  • humidity: 77% expected
  • temp: ~11°C expected
  • wind: Minimal (~1m/s)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • SN_C2 due to missing backplane night before.
  • Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
  • Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
  • Handover to second-half observer at 0:57am local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/18 00:12'     Local time = 21:12
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/18 03:57'     Local time = 00:57
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-05 02:07:38.889291+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-05 02:27:02.504540+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-11 00:44:55.939087+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-12 00:44:46.292668+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-12 01:18:46.555413+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps