Project

General

Profile

02172017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57801 (starting evening of Feb 17, 2017)

1st Half night

Observers

  • Antonella Palmese (Obs 2, RM)
  • Marcelle Soares-Santos (Obs 1)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

mjd 57802, date 20170217, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:42 CLST     UT 17:42     SidTim 22:51
Sunset     20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   SidTim   71 deg  
Eve. -10   21:12 CLST  00:12 UT   SidTim   80 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:32 CLST  00:32 UT   SidTim   85 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:52 CLST  00:52 UT   SidTim   90 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:44 CLST  03:44 UT   SidTim  134 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  152 deg  
Morn -18   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   SidTim  213 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:22 CLST  09:22 UT   SidTim  218 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   SidTim  223 deg  
Sunrise    07:19 CLST  10:19 UT   SidTim  232 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 232.9, Dec -13.1 Phase: 0.565

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Evening Standards: Yzirg.

UT Date = '2017/02/18 00:12'     Local time = 21:12
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
GD71_CCD_62           ra 05:52:28  dec +15:58:17  secz 1.5
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

* Nightly Defocus: None

* Sciene Observations:

  • Start running obstac as usual, and try cosmos field observations if conditions permit
    • if seeing better than 1.1'' run g-band script (from airmass>1.3)

* Midpoint standard (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY

UT Date = '2017/02/18 04:52'     Local time = 01:52
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.8
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-26 00:55:51.528351+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-27 00:53:18.591071+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-28 00:53:06.852121+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-28 01:14:15.665466+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-01-28 01:33:29.425048+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-29 01:04:14.492806+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-29 01:17:20.589302+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-29 01:36:41.706064+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-02-05 01:07:52.108646+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-02-05 01:56:37.995348+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-02-07 00:48:18.651625+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-02-07 01:36:25.184363+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-02-16 01:26:55.700243+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-02-16 01:49:47.191794+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-02-16 02:09:00.834834+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-02-16 02:21:52.420017+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

  • We want to run the second script in g-band for COSMOS when COSMOS is at airmass>1.3 and then turn Obstac on again