Project

General

Profile

02162017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57801 (starting evening of Feb 16, 2017)

1st Half night

Observers

  • Antonella Palmese (Obs 1)
  • Marcelle Soares-Santos (Obs 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

mjd 57801, date 20170216, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:17 CLST     UT 15:17     SidTim 20:22
Sunset     20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   SidTim   70 deg  
Eve. -10   21:13 CLST  00:13 UT   SidTim   80 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   SidTim   84 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   SidTim   90 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:08 CLST  03:08 UT   SidTim  123 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  150 deg  
Morn -18   06:01 CLST  09:01 UT   SidTim  212 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:21 CLST  09:21 UT   SidTim  217 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:41 CLST  09:41 UT   SidTim  222 deg  
Sunrise    07:18 CLST  10:18 UT   SidTim  231 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 221.0, Dec -10.1 Phase: 0.624

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Evening Standards: Yzirg.

UT Date = '2017/02/17 00:13'     Local time = 21:13
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
WD0308-565_CCD_62     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.2
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

* Nightly Defocus: None

* Sciene Observations:

  • Start running obstac as usual, and try cosmos field observations if conditions permit
    • if seeing better than 1.1'' run g-band script (from 00:20 local time)
    • if seeing better than 1.05'' rerun the 2nd i-band script (end of half night; last 1/2h only)
    • load scripts and delete the ones that were good last time: 1,5,6,7

* Midpoint standard (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY

UT Date = '2017/02/17 04:52'     Local time = 01:52
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.8
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-26 00:55:51.528351+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-27 00:53:18.591071+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-28 00:53:06.852121+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-28 01:14:15.665466+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-01-28 01:33:29.425048+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-29 01:04:14.492806+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-29 01:17:20.589302+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-29 01:36:41.706064+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-02-05 01:07:52.108646+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-02-05 01:56:37.995348+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-02-07 00:48:18.651625+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-02-07 01:36:25.184363+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-02-16 01:26:55.700243+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-02-16 01:49:47.191794+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-02-16 02:09:00.834834+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-02-16 02:21:52.420017+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

  • Apply the DESDM assessment and watch for repeaters
  • Cosmos scripts g,i, 15 minutes of u-band. Cosmos comes up in the middle of the half night.
    Cosmos transits at midnight. Seeing better than 1.05" I-band, photometric. At 12:20 local
    we can run the i-band scripts. For g- and u- the seeing threshold is weaker, 1.1".
  • Translating PSF's between band:
    • if i = 1.0", then g = 1.10", r=1.04", z=0.96", Y=0.95 independent of airmass.
    • airmass corrections: airmass ratio to 3/5 power.
  • Wait until cosmos is at 1.3 airmass, then start with half an hour g band and then switch to i band as the moon will be rising. But always only if the seeing is good enough