Project

General

Profile

02152015 » History » Version 1

Chihway Chang, 02/14/2015 11:27 PM

1 1 Chihway Chang
h1. 02152015
2 1 Chihway Chang
3 1 Chihway Chang
[to be updated...]
4 1 Chihway Chang
5 1 Chihway Chang
h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57068 (starting evening of Feb 15, 2015)
6 1 Chihway Chang
7 1 Chihway Chang
DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night.
8 1 Chihway Chang
9 1 Chihway Chang
h3. Observers and CTIO Staff
10 1 Chihway Chang
11 1 Chihway Chang
* Chihway Chang (observer 2)
12 1 Chihway Chang
* Marcelle Soares-Santos (observer 1, run manager)
13 1 Chihway Chang
* Manuel Hernandez (CTIO staff)
14 1 Chihway Chang
* Alberto Alvarez (CTIO staff)
15 1 Chihway Chang
* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
16 1 Chihway Chang
17 1 Chihway Chang
h3. Almanac
18 1 Chihway Chang
19 1 Chihway Chang
<pre>
20 1 Chihway Chang
mjd 57068, date 20150214, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
21 1 Chihway Chang
Current local time 10:40 CLST     UT 13:40     SidTim 18:35
22 1 Chihway Chang
Sunset     20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
23 1 Chihway Chang
Eve. -10   21:15 CLST  00:15 UT   SidTim   78 deg  Zeropoint; standards
24 1 Chihway Chang
Eve. -14   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   SidTim   83 deg  Begin obstac
25 1 Chihway Chang
Eve. -18   21:56 CLST  00:56 UT   SidTim   88 deg  Last chance standards
26 1 Chihway Chang
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  148 deg  
27 1 Chihway Chang
Moonrise   03:40 CLST  06:40 UT   SidTim  174 deg  
28 1 Chihway Chang
Morn -18   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   SidTim  208 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
29 1 Chihway Chang
Morn Std   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   SidTim  214 deg  End obstac; begin standards
30 1 Chihway Chang
Morn -10   06:39 CLST  09:39 UT   SidTim  218 deg  
31 1 Chihway Chang
Sunrise    07:16 CLST  10:16 UT   SidTim  228 deg  
32 1 Chihway Chang
Moon position (deg): RA 274.7, Dec -17.6 Phase: 0.320
33 1 Chihway Chang
</pre>
34 1 Chihway Chang
35 1 Chihway Chang
h3. Weather Conditions
36 1 Chihway Chang
37 1 Chihway Chang
* Clear, mid to high humidity, no winds 
38 1 Chihway Chang
* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satelite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
39 1 Chihway Chang
40 1 Chihway Chang
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
41 1 Chihway Chang
42 1 Chihway Chang
* Start of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
43 1 Chihway Chang
44 1 Chihway Chang
<pre>
45 1 Chihway Chang
UT Date = '2015/02/14 00:15'     Local time = 21:15
46 1 Chihway Chang
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
47 1 Chihway Chang
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
48 1 Chihway Chang
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
49 1 Chihway Chang
</pre>
50 1 Chihway Chang
51 1 Chihway Chang
* Obstac
52 1 Chihway Chang
53 1 Chihway Chang
* Pre-hand over standards [grizY ordered scripts]
54 1 Chihway Chang
55 1 Chihway Chang
<pre>
56 1 Chihway Chang
UT Date = '2015/02/14 04:47'     Local time = 01:47
57 1 Chihway Chang
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
58 1 Chihway Chang
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2
59 1 Chihway Chang
</pre>
60 1 Chihway Chang
61 1 Chihway Chang
* Handover to community team
62 1 Chihway Chang
63 1 Chihway Chang
h3. Useful links
64 1 Chihway Chang
65 1 Chihway Chang
"4 o'clock meeting":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/4pm_meeting_
66 1 Chihway Chang
"Nightsum":http://decam03.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
67 1 Chihway Chang
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satelite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
68 1 Chihway Chang
"Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule | "Season schedule":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr3
69 1 Chihway Chang
"kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools | "Navigation Tool":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Using_GuiderPlots_and_Navigation | "Quick Reduce":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/des-sci-verification/wiki/Qr
70 1 Chihway Chang
"Exposure db sync":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DM_into_Database
71 1 Chihway Chang
"GPS monitor check":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/GPSMonitor | "AtmCam check":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/ATmCamInfo
72 1 Chihway Chang
"Run Manager's Check List":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Daily_check_list | "Afternoon Checklist":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Afternoon_Checklist_(Dome_Closed) | "Beginning of the Night Checklist":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Start_of_Observing_Checklist_(Dome_Open) | "End of the Night Checklist":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/End_of_Night_Checklist