Project

General

Profile

02142018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Felipe Menanteau (Observer 1)
  • Jason Poh (Observer 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58164, date 20180214, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:49 CLST     UT 18:49     SidTim 23:46
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   04:35   69 deg  
Eve. -10   21:15 CLST  00:15 UT   05:12   78 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   05:32   83 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:56 CLST  00:56 UT   05:52   88 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:54  148 deg  
Morn -18   05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   13:55  209 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   14:16  214 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:39 CLST  09:39 UT   14:36  219 deg  
Moonrise   07:03 CLST  10:03 UT   15:00  225 deg  
Sunrise    07:16 CLST  10:16 UT   15:13  228 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 321.6, Dec -14.9 Phase: 0.057

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: clear
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear
  • humidity: 63% expected
  • temp: ~13°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
  • Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
  • Handover to second-half observer at 0:57am local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/15 00:15'     Local time = 21:15
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/15 03:57'     Local time = 00:57
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-05 02:07:38.889291+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-05 02:27:02.504540+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-11 00:44:55.939087+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-12 00:44:46.292668+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-12 01:18:46.555413+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps