Project

General

Profile

02132018
First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Felipe Menanteau (Observer 1, RM)
  • Jason Poh (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58163, date 20180213, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:41 CLST     UT 18:41     SidTim 23:34
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   04:32   68 deg  
Eve. -10   21:16 CLST  00:16 UT   05:09   77 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   05:29   82 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   05:50   88 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:50  148 deg  
Morn -18   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   13:50  208 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonrise   06:09 CLST  09:09 UT   14:02  210 deg  
Morn -14   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   14:11  213 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:38 CLST  09:38 UT   14:31  218 deg  
Sunrise    07:15 CLST  10:15 UT   15:08  227 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 309.3, Dec -17.2 Phase: 0.121

h3. Weather Conditions
  • at lunch: clear
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear
  • humidity: 65% expected
  • temp: ~12°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
  • Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
  • Handover to second-half observer at 0:57am local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/14 00:16'     Local time = 21:16
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/14 03:57'     Local time = 00:57
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-05 02:07:38.889291+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-05 02:27:02.504540+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-11 00:44:55.939087+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-12 00:44:46.292668+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-12 01:18:46.555413+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps