Project

General

Profile

02102018
First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Jason Poh (Observer 1)
  • Felipe Menanteau (Observer 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Jacqueline Seron - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58160, date 20180210, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:11 CLST     UT 18:11     SidTim 22:52
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:42 CLST  23:42 UT   04:23   66 deg  
Eve. -10   21:19 CLST  00:19 UT   05:00   75 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:39 CLST  00:39 UT   05:20   80 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   05:41   85 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:38  144 deg  
Moonrise   03:39 CLST  06:39 UT   11:20  170 deg  
Morn -18   05:54 CLST  08:54 UT   13:35  204 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:15 CLST  09:15 UT   13:56  209 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   14:16  214 deg  
Sunrise    07:13 CLST  10:13 UT   14:53  223 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 272.0, Dec -19.2 Phase: 0.311

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: clear
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear
  • humidity: 60% expected
  • temp: ~14°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
  • Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
  • Handover to second-half observer at 1:57am local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
T Date = '2018/02/11 00:19'     Local time = 21:19
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/11 04:57'     Local time = 01:57
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-04 01:54:02.145570+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-04 02:17:16.825705+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-05 01:54:32.742289+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-05 02:07:38.889291+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-05 02:27:02.504540+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps