Project

General

Profile

02092018 » History » Version 2

Version 1 (Felipe Menanteau, 02/09/2018 11:53 AM) → Version 2/3 (Felipe Menanteau, 02/09/2018 05:42 PM)

h1. 02092018

First-half night for DES

h3. Observers

> to get the names, check the "shift table":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr6

* Jason Poh (Observer 1)
* Felipe Menanteau (Observer 2, RM)

h3. CTIO Staff

> To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule

* Jacqueline Seron Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
* Alberto Alvarez - Operator

h3. Almanac

> forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools

<pre>
mjd 58159, date 20180209, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:51 CLST UT 17:51 SidTim 22:28
Event Local-Time Greenwich Sidereal-Time
Sunset 20:43 CLST 23:43 UT 04:20 65 deg
Eve. -10 21:20 CLST 00:20 UT 04:57 74 deg Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14 21:40 CLST 00:40 UT 05:17 79 deg Begin obstac
Eve. -18 22:01 CLST 01:01 UT 05:38 84 deg Last chance standards
Midpoint 01:57 CLST 04:57 UT 09:34 144 deg
Moonrise 02:55 CLST 05:55 UT 10:32 158 deg
Morn -18 05:53 CLST 08:53 UT 13:30 202 deg Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14 06:14 CLST 09:14 UT 13:51 208 deg End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10 06:35 CLST 09:35 UT 14:11 213 deg
Sunrise 07:12 CLST 10:12 UT 14:49 222 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 259.6, Dec -18.1 Phase: 0.374
</pre>

h3. Weather Conditions

* at lunch: clear, but cloudy over Pachon
* Forecast is to be clear
> "as predicted by hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html

* clouds: clear
* humidity: 60% expected
* temp: ~13°C expected
* wind: light winds expected

h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* First half DES, second half non-DES
* Evening standards (Yzirg)
* Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
* Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
* **Handover to second-half observer at 1:57am local time.**

> forgotten how to do this? Use standards with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools

* 3 Evening standards
Yzirg

<pre>
UT Date = '2018/02/10 00:20' Local time = 21:20
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6
C26202/HST ra 03:32:30 dec -27:46:05 secz 1.1
</pre>

* 1 midpoint standard
grizY

<pre>
UT Date = '2018/02/10 04:57' Local time = 01:57
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6
SDSSJ0933-0005 ra 09:33:00 dec -00:05:00 secz 1.2
</pre>

h3. When were the last SN fields observed?

> forgotten how to do this? "Instructions here":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed

<pre>
SN-E1 short 2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2 short 2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2 short 2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1 short 2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2 short 2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1 short 2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2018-02-04 01:54:02.145570+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2018-02-04 02:17:16.825705+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2018-02-05 01:54:32.742289+00:00
SN-C1 short 2018-02-05 02:07:38.889291+00:00
SN-C2 short 2018-02-05 02:27:02.504540+00:00
</pre>

h3. Useful links

"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php