Project

General

Profile

02092018 » History » Version 1

Version 1/3 - Next » - Current version
Felipe Menanteau, 02/09/2018 11:53 AM


02092018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Jason Poh (Observer 1)
  • Felipe Menanteau (Observer 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58159, date 20180209, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:51 CLST     UT 17:51     SidTim 22:28
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   04:20   65 deg  
Eve. -10   21:20 CLST  00:20 UT   04:57   74 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:40 CLST  00:40 UT   05:17   79 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:01 CLST  01:01 UT   05:38   84 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:34  144 deg  
Moonrise   02:55 CLST  05:55 UT   10:32  158 deg  
Morn -18   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   13:30  202 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:14 CLST  09:14 UT   13:51  208 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:35 CLST  09:35 UT   14:11  213 deg  
Sunrise    07:12 CLST  10:12 UT   14:49  222 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 259.6, Dec -18.1 Phase: 0.374

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: clear, but cloudy over Pachon
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear
  • humidity: 60% expected
  • temp: ~13°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac - expect gri
  • Middle-of-night standards (grizY)
  • Handover to second-half observer at 1:57am local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/10 00:20'     Local time = 21:20
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/10 04:57'     Local time = 01:57
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-04 01:54:02.145570+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-04 02:17:16.825705+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-05 01:54:32.742289+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-05 02:07:38.889291+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-05 02:27:02.504540+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps