Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57428 (starting evening of 2/9/16)
DES (2012B-0001)
h2. Observers

  • Andrés Plazas (Observer 1/RM)
  • Felipe Menanteau (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera, Manuel Hernández

Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57428, date 20160209, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:26 CLST     UT 15:26     SidTim 20:01
Sunset     20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Eve. -10   21:20 CLST  00:20 UT   SidTim   74 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Moonset    21:22 CLST  00:22 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Eve. -14   21:41 CLST  00:41 UT   SidTim   79 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:02 CLST  01:02 UT   SidTim   84 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  143 deg  
Morn -18   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   SidTim  202 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:14 CLST  09:14 UT   SidTim  207 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   SidTim  212 deg  
Sunrise    07:11 CLST  10:11 UT   SidTim  222 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 343.1, Dec -5.5 Phase: 0.092

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Calibrations in the afternoon.
  • Evening standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/02/10 00:20'     Local time = 21:20
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
  • Obstac: If seeing above 1 arcsec, we will do starflats (see bellow)
  • Starflats:

Star-flats will be taken to improve the calibration for Y3.
There is one set of scripts and we have to go back
to the original pointing at the start of each filter. If seeing is above 1", then
do them. No u, no VR, but yes to use engineering propid 2013A-9999. PI is Alistair Walker.
We will switch back to Frieman after.

We will use the field at: RA=07:30:00 DEC=-50:00:00
Instructions can be found here

According to the program "skycalc", we will have good airmass at about 11:00 p.m. local time,
so we will aim to start the starflats (if done) at that time:

Hourly airmass for 07h Field  

Epoch 2000.00: RA   7 30 00.0, dec -48 45 00  (in Pup)
Epoch 2016.11: RA   7 30 26.9, dec -48 47 04

At midnight: UT date 2016 Feb 10, Moon 0.03 illum, 111 degr from obj

  Local      UT      LMST      HA     secz   par.angl. SunAlt MoonAlt

  21 00     0 00     4 35    -2 56    1.268   -77.1     -5.7     3.9
  22 00     1 00     5 35    -1 55    1.140   -60.3    -17.5    ... 
  23 00     2 00     6 35    -0 55    1.074   -34.5     ...     ... 
   0 00     3 00     7 35     0 05    1.055     3.3     ...     ... 
   1 00     4 00     8 35     1 05    1.081    39.5     ...     ... 
   2 00     5 00     9 36     2 05    1.156    63.4     ...     ... 
   3 00     6 00    10 36     3 05    1.297    79.3     ...     ... 
   4 00     7 00    11 36     4 06    1.536    91.5     ...     ... 
   5 00     8 00    12 36     5 06    1.954   102.0     ...     ... 
   6 00     9 00    13 36     6 06    2.751   111.9    -16.5    ... 
   7 00    10 00    14 36     7 06    4.626   121.9     -4.7    ... 
 
  • Go back to ObsTac
  • Midpoint standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/02/10 00:43'     Local time = 21:43
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
  • Hand over to second half observers.

Notes from Observers

See Night summary