Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56698 (starting evening of Feb 9, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Alex Drlica-Wagner Steve Kent Steve Kent
ext. ext. ext.

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Humberto Orrego Hernan Tirado

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac

mjd 56698, date 20140209, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:46 CLST     UT 20:46     SidTim 01:23
Sunset     20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   SidTim   65 deg  
Eve. -10   21:20 CLST  00:20 UT   SidTim   74 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:40 CLST  00:40 UT   SidTim   79 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:01 CLST  01:01 UT   SidTim   84 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  144 deg  
Moonset    03:35 CLST  06:35 UT   SidTim  168 deg  
Morn -18   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   SidTim  202 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:14 CLST  09:14 UT   SidTim  208 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:35 CLST  09:35 UT   SidTim  213 deg  
Sunrise    07:12 CLST  10:12 UT   SidTim  222 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 88.5, Dec 19.7 Phase: 0.685

Weather Conditions

Clear, some wind
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards - Wind screen down

00:20
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1 **DES_std_SDSSJ0843_Yzirg.json**
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5 **DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json**
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1 **DES_std_c26202_Yzirg.json**

End of Night Standards - Wind screen down
UT 04:45
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8  **DES_std_SDSSJ1227_grizY.json**
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2  **DES_std_SDSSJ0933-0005_grizY.json**